Porth Dafarch + The Sea Zoo 13 Sept

Post your fishing report and pictures in this section

Moderator: John Petersen

MrMikey
Super Poster

Porth Dafarch + The Sea Zoo 13 Sept

Postby MrMikey » Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:45 pm

I have been fishing around Trearddur Bay for nigh on forty years now and I'm totally sick of catching wrasse. So, I have bought some decent rods, reels and have been learning all the tricks of the trade from this site. Today was the first go at getting something other than wrasse and hopefully the fish I have waited all my life for... a bass.

We got to Porth Dafarch about 1 1/2 before high and there wasnt a breath of wind apart from all the puffin and pantin my mate was doing after the walk and climb down to the rocks.

Full of high hopes and expectations we started with fresh rag, frozen lug, squid and frozeb sand eel. Bob was first on after 20 mins with this pollack.

Bob about to drown his pet rag that he nick named "Anna Conda"

After another half hour I got a solid knock and the thing went to ground 3 times, took about 10/15 mins to get it out of the rocks and ashore. You guessed it, another damn wrasse. The only good thing was that it was a reasonable size.

We carried on fishing till an hour after the slack but nothing was doing so moved down to the back of the Sea Zoo. Via a pub.

Neither of us had fished this venue before and turned up in jeans and trainers. Thinking of the old addage "no pain, no gain" we rolled up the jeans and waded through the slime. Bob being slightly more "portly" than I vanished from the knee caps down at one point but we got out far enough to almost hit the channel.

After just 10 mins I got a good knock and finally .christmas and my birthday rolled into one, I got my first bass.

Immediatley followed by this one.

I know there not very big but I was buzzin, waited a long time for this. It went quite after that as it was just about on the slack by then.