Multiplier
45%
Other
5%

Total votes: 22

Pete

POLL: What Type Of Reel Do You Use?

Postby Pete » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:45 pm

I'm fairly new to the sea-fishing game and am currently using hand-me-down gear.
I was just browsing online for a decent reel and figured and I'd let you guys weigh in on the subject.

I'd be interested to know what kind of reel you guys use and, if you don't mind, why you use it.

Are there any brands you recommend... or completely steer clear of?
Multipliers are interesting, there's a 50/50 divide, with people hating them (stories of bird-nesting and burnt fingers/thumbs) but some people love them.

All wisdom and info welcomed!
Thank you.
"The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope."
~John Buchan

Big Kev
The Masterful One

Re: POLL: What Type Of Reel Do You Use?

Postby Big Kev » Mon Apr 24, 2017 4:03 pm

Started with fixed spools as a kid,but would seriously consider packing in if i had to use one these days...i find multis so much nicer/smoother to fish with,and they give a much better feel of what`s going on. Modern multis are pretty easy to master,with the Green Abu Mag Elite 6500 c3 ct being my fav`...used them for years and never have a prob
I also use an Abu Chrome rocket which also gives me trouble free fishing,though it does`nt have the same control as the mag elite so may not be the reel to start with
Used to use Daiwa 7ht`s which are good reels,but better for lighter beach work,and the small handle can be a pain especially when your hands are cold.
2020 best of....

wobbler72
Obsessed Poster

Postby wobbler72 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:24 pm